Luke’s square and Cake.

Well the first week of January is now over and I have done quite well with my New Year’s resolutions. I haven’t drunk any fizzy drinks like coke or lemonade. I have switched it for carbonated flavoured water. This is much more cost effective as well. Tesco do 4 bottles for £1.50 and it even tastes nice. If you haven’t seen my  New Year’s Resolutions post then you can see it here- New Years Resolutions

So this week I haven’t been crocheting much but I have managed to complete my Luke’s square for my big Gilmore Girls project. You can download the pattern here from Chaos and Chop Suey blog

I started in the bottom left corner. I have never used bobbins before so I didn’t this time. I cut and tied each colour change and crocheted over the edges and weaved in any tails.

I decided to use Stylecraft Special DK. It’s soft and relatively cheap.

For this square I needed blue, gold and brown.

I used

Gold 1709- 149g used

Dark Brown 1004- 41g used

Turquoise 1068 – 175g used

Now this is only a guide as everyone’s tension is different and what style they use. I did my square in the standard corner to corner with a 3.5mm hook.

I couldn’t print the pattern as I couldn’t connect my printer, so I had to open the square in paint and mark off each square. But downside was when S went back to work with of course his laptop. So I sat down one night and wrote out all the rows and colour changes. It toke a long time to write it all out.

img_0345
The only way when you have no printer.

I finished it and it looks amazing and its almost big enough for a blanket of its own. this CAL blanket is going to be huge.

img_0256
It’s finished.

But I didn’t get to do any other squares this week as I had a birthday cake to make for a lovely little girl who loves Scooby Doo.

She decided she wanted a two tier cake with Scooby Doo figures on it. So I purchased some figures and made the cake. Chocolate sponge with chocolate buttercream on the top and vanilla sponge and vanilla buttercream on the bottom. I even threw in some Scoobie snacks on the bottom tier.

img_0205
Scooby Doo and all the gang.

Next week I am working on the Town Gazebo square and the Coffee Coffee Coffee square. I might not get them both finished as it’s C’s 8th birthday this week, so we have some celebrations this week. If you would like to do this squares with me as well you can find them here.

2 thoughts on “Luke’s square and Cake.

Leave a Reply

